Weekly Photo Challenge: Create

I know, I missed this one, and a few others!
I hope you don’t mind if I play catch-up.

When I stand before God at the end of my life,
I would hope that I not have a single bit of talent left, and could say,
“I used everything you gave me.” Erma Bombeck

 I love going to Craft Markets, hobby and Craft Expos, and Craft Shops. I am inspired to try new things, or have “ah-ha” moments when solutions to problems or “crafters block” suddenly appear. Crafters and hobbyists are such open and friendly people and most of them are eager to share their knowledge and skill. It’s unbelievable how much talent there is out there, and how many different products!

I became a Granny 4 years ago, to another boy! And two years ago to yet another one! When my 3 sons where little I had to steer myself into creating things they’d be interested in, quite challenging! Boys don’t like soft and cuddly things when they get older!

They’ve been great teachers!

However, one of the sewing projects I hit upon for them has turned out to be a real success. It has grown and changed and developed differently over the years too. I started out designing linen for their bedrooms, placemats to encourage them to eat, playmats when they were babies and when they were bigger and had cars and airplanes to land. With the two littlies now, I’ve come back to Playmats, Rag Books and Softies.

The Playmats are tactile, audible and fun; with Softies attached to teething rings; crinkly wings or ears, or blocks; there are squeakers in tummies, wheels and other places; bells too; things to lift up and find surprises hidden below; textures and lumpy bumpy things; stretchy and bouncy doodads; and all kinds of themes.
I’m designing a girl’s range too; Sugar and Spice and All Things Nice; teddies, cupcakes, dollies, and all kinds of girly things.

What joy! I hope you enjoy my offerings…

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Create

  1. Beautiful works of Art made with lots of love, giving comfort and warmth to those who use it. Looking at your work, I see a lots of your joyful memories with your children and now, your grand kids. How time flies…inspiring post. “When I stand before God at the end of my life,
    I would hope that I not have a single bit of talent left, and could say,
    “I used everything you gave me.” I hope I too can do that in the end… thanks.

    Like

  2. AgrippingLife says:

    Charlene! These are adorable! You have such lucky grandchildren. Not only are they perfect for stimulating the little ones, everything is soft and can be kept through the years. I especially love the quilts and placemat idea. I made a memory quilt for my grandmother that looks like yours. I asked all of my cousins to make a square relating to a special memory and boy, did it turn out grand! She loved it. When my grandmother died several years ago she took her quilt with her : )
    Your talent for creating is amazing! I’m sure the grandkids will treasure these things forever. Also, you can feel the love behind each little stitch. Total joy.

    Like

    • Lisa, thank you very much! They are a labour of love, much of it done by hand. With my visual problems it can be challenging! Now with a new sewing machine, maybe they’ll go faster!

      Like

Leave a Reply

