Bloemfontein: South African Judicial Capital

Hubs had to go on a business trip to Bloem. It went on longer than anticipated, so I boarded a bus and went the loooong way around to join him.
We stayed in a Guest House on a smallholding on the outskirts of town. It was a slightly larger than normal room, with a microwave, bar fridge and sink. Along the veranda outside the door were a few tables and chairs facing the garden. In the corner of the L-shaped building was an open-air lounge with lovely sofas to lounge on. A mid-chest high wall was topped by roll-up canvas and plastic blinds. The inner side of the walls formed a bar-like ledge lined with bar-stools. This was for conferences as well as relaxing. Plug points were placed at intervals for laptops. It was a lovely place to lie back and crochet, and also surf the net. In the middle of the little garden was a picnic set. Sitting there in the full winter sun was glorious.
On the other side of the Guest House building is the owner’s property. Luxurious and huge! An enormous paddock is home to a stable block and individual paddocks for the horses. Patrolling the area are two emus. Made me grin to see it.
Just around the corner from the property, was another owned by the same people. They have lions, cheetah and other animals. I didn’t visit, but we’re woken by the roaring lions every morning! Actually, at night, they serenade the countryside too!
We returned home for the long weekend. Delicious to be back with the family, our precious Grandies, especially little Stacy not even a month old. My cat was thrilled to have me home, and so was the Parrot. It was better than any Guest House!
We returned to Bloem on Tuesday for an indefinite period. Leaving the baby was wrenching! These are precious days as a baby starts becoming aware of and responsive to her surroundings. She’d started giving tentative smiles, had expressed great delight in being in mum’s and my arms. She has me wrapped firmly around her little finger!
We decided to go self-catering this time and are totally enchanted with where we are staying! A beautiful double-storey cottage, with stunning decor. Silver vases and candelabra, huge, soft towels, percale linen, and fabulous fresh, generous and imaginative continental breakfasts. Upon our late arrival, we were presented with a sumptuous home-cooked, complimentary, meal.
Tonie has a large property divided in three parts. The Buildings are on a third, and two large encampments make up the rest. In the large encampment are a 2 Egyptian Geese and a little herd of springbok, a ram and his harem. The other enclosure has 2 duikers, a tiny steenbok and a flock of ducks. The buck are habituated, and come to the fence to greet you, snorting happily. Roaming freely around the whole property are a flock of raucous guinea-fowl, rabbits, ground squirrels and a mongoose or two.
One little fellow has completely enchanted me. A Butcher bird has become Tonie’s free-range pet. He spots Tonie and swoops down, fluttering just above his head to the wall, where Tonie places a small chunk of cheese. The Butcher bird has taken to doing this with me too after just a few days here. It is so amazing!
I love Bloemfontein! It is a very pretty place, built in, around and on top of little hills. The people are friendly and don’t appear to care where you are from, nor what language you speak. I haven’t been anywhere much. We have gone into the malls for a few meals, and browsed around. Great shopping here. I’ve also located two yarn shops and spent some money!!! I have seen a Creative Talents Shop giving workshops. An embroidery shop. Fabric warehouse. Bead Shop. OH!!!! I think I may have discovered heaven on earth!!!!
Tonie has brought me a pile of Decor and Travel magazines that have been delicious to look through.  I brought lots of wool, crochet hooks and knitting needles with me. All my patterns are on my laptop, so I am in a really great place! BUT! I miss my family, two and four-legged ones! Only a few more days and we go home!

Leave a Reply

